A die-hard City Girl reconnects to the natural world… in the city.

Looking Ahead Toward a New Future

It’s been nearly a year since I’ve written a post on here and there are several reasons: time, energy, overwhelming life changes. But it’s time I got back to sharing the growth I’ve experienced and all the wonderful things I’ve been learning with you all. I’ve been getting several requests and it’s the least I can do to help people who are choosing to walk with me (and countless others) down this path.

What’s new? Well, I think it’s inevitable that as you begin to go down the aforementioned rabbit hole and learn all about your food and where it comes from, it begins to impact nearly every other aspect of your life.  It’s a kind of strange evolution that I can only document like this: Going Natural/Organic-> Going Chemical Free ->Reducing Waste->Total Treehugger Mode. It also doesn’t hurt to get laid off from work and realize that you have to seriously contemplate just how much money you give or throw away in the form of waste: energy waste (leave the lights on much? We do!), food waste (just how much stuff do you throw away on trash day? For us it’s TOO MUCH!) and buying things you simply just don’t need but are convinced you do by the clever advertising.

I have learned a great many things and one of the biggest things I’ve learned is how much knowledge is being sucked away by consumerism. If the world as we know it ended tomorrow and we could no longer go and get what we needed from the grocery store, how would you survive? We like to think it’s a far-fetched question but if this economy or the sheer number of strange (or not so strange) natural disasters have shown us anything recently, it’s shown us how fragile this cushy life we live really is.

So what have I been up to and what can you expect from future posts on the Slowvolution? Well, if the video above is any indication I’m moving my family toward a Zero Waste Lifestyle. I’m not going into too much detail right now but suffice it to say that we will be making the transition in 2012 to a life of as little waste as possible. With that comes a lot of other byproducts- reducing consumption, reducing expenses, going chemical-free by making our own household products, repurposing old and worn items and learning about things my grandmother and great-grandmother knew how to do or had neighbors that could do it: Soap and lotion making, making household cleaners (which we’ve been using for about 6 months in our home already), old school toiletries etc. I will also be varying the blogs with Vlogs on how to make the things I’m learning how to make and demonstrations of changes we’ve made around the home.

Like our new toothpowder for instance! 🙂

So stay tuned folks. 2012 is going to be quite interesting in our household! Hope you’re ready!

Leave a Reply

